14 replies to this topic

#1 nikkums

nikkums

TreasureTrooper!

• Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9476 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 02:08 PM

Ever since the newer version of Java and FireFox came out, it's become more and more complicated for some members to access the chat room. Even when we suggest installing older versions, using different browsers, ect., it still does not always work and several members are still unable to access chat no matter what.

Assuming the issue ties with Java and different versions of web browsers, I know there is a way around that. There are several versions of IRC clients that you can download and use that will let you access the chat room. I know they require more detailed information after being downloaded to insure you connect in to the chat room properly, otherwise it will not work. However, I cannot provide this information because I have no experience with any IRC clients.

I would be highly appreciative if anyone that uses an IRC client (preferrably free) of any sort to access that Treasure Trooper Chat Room, could reply to this thread and include a tutorial of the IRC client you use and the specific information you need to have inputted to successfully connect to the chat room.

Posted Image Posted Image

#2 ryan337lee

ryan337lee

Grave Robber

• VIP Club Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1379 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 06:15 AM

Supposedly XChat is a very lightweight easy to use irc.  See XChat: Quick Start Guide, the download is the at the very top right corner of the page.
Posted Image

#3 ryan337lee

ryan337lee

Grave Robber

• VIP Club Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1379 posts

Posted 01 December 2012 - 09:51 PM

Okay, I really should have looked into how XChat works before I suggested it.  Well if anyone wants to try it out here are some quick instructions on how to use it.

1. Download it here
2. Run it
3. Fill in the user info: I'd recommend putting your chat nick in all the fields